Skip to content

Day 6 – Work in Progress

July 24, 2010

My grip and my abs want to kill me today. I’m certain when I go to sleep tonight they’ll hold a meeting to decide how best to go about doing so. Of course, I’ll be helping them towards that goal a bit, as tonight will involve falling off the paleo diet wagon for an evening (GASP! The horror!).

You see, tonight was the birthday celebration for a friend of mine who just joined some of us in the most awesome decade ever – the 30’s. This called for a celebration, naturally, which contained quite a bit of unnatural food, naturally. I’ll be fine, though – these deviations from The One True Nutritional Way will be few and far between.

Breakfast: 3 strips nitrite-free bacon, 3 scrambled eggs, small glass of coconut milk, small bowl of grapes. I know, too much fruit isn’t exactly the paleo way, but it doesn’t do that much damage on occasion.

Workout: Row 500m, 1 round of the CrossFit warmup, and a bunch of shoulder-grip-core work: 3 rounds of max strict L-pullups and knees-to-elbows (3 LPU/5 KTE, 1LPU / 5 KTE, 2LPU / 4 KTE), followed by some work towards maybe one day in the distant future getting a front lever (right now I don’t even have a good ice cream maker), followed by 3 rounds of max L-Sit for time on some dip bars (15s, 11s, 12s).

PWO Meal: Sweet potato fries (baked) dipped in guacamole, 2 hard-boiled eggs, 3 fish oil caps, 2000 iU vitamin D3.

DEVIATION: Snacked on a medium soft serve ice cream cone with my wife while running some errands. Nigh instantaneous stomach pain afterwards.

Lunch: Quarter pound of grass-fed ground beef, one hard-boiled egg, one cucumber, one tomato, small glass of coconut milk, 3 fish oil caps, 2000 iU vitamin D3.

Dinner: DEVIATION: A lot of non-paleo stuff. Mini Cuban sandwiches, mini pulled pork sandwiches, buffalo chicken dip, guacamole, tortilla chips, meatballs in sauce, and key lime cheesecake. Oh, and 4 Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald porters. I expect to feel horrible in the morning, but I’ll be back on the paleo wagon for the rest of the week.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment