Skip to content

Day 19 – Runnin’ Down a Dream

August 6, 2010

…or up a hill, as the case may be. It was hill sprint day, and when the heat index is nigh triple digits, those are not fun. On the bright side, I’m a bit faster than I was the last time I sprinted. I blame the fact that my midsection padding appears to be smaller.

One thing you rarely notice about sprinting is how it involves the core. Were it not for the front lever practice yesterday, I don’t think I’d have even noticed today. By the third round of sprinting, there was just enough tightness through the abs to let me know they were working. I’m probably going to wind up taking some anatomy and physiology classes, possibly some kinesiology as well, just to see how this stuff all links together. Of course, that’s a slippery slope, and the next thing you know I’ll have CSCS, CPT, and a bunch of other acronyms after my name…

Breakfast: 4 strips nitrite-free bacon, handful of raspberries, can of V8, small glass of coconut milk, 3 fish oil caps.

Lunch: Chicken breast, avocado, massive salad (spinach, kale, asparagus, radishes), 3 fish oil caps, 2000 iU vitamin D3.

(P)Rehab: Rotator cuff work, all at 90-degrees. Internal rotations x 18, external rotations x 18, lateral raises x 12, rows x 25. Various shoulder stretches and mobility work. I think this is starting to pay off, as my shoulders gave me no trouble at all on the tuck front levers yesterday.

Afternoon Snack: Chicken breast, avocado, remaining salad, 3 fish oil caps, 2000 iU vitamin D3.

Workout: Dynamic stretching a la Catalyst Athletics, 2 rounds abbreviated CrossFit warmup (squats, pushups, situps), 5 x :30 hill sprints with 3:00 rest between, long hot trudge back uphill to the apartment.

PWO Meal: Bowl of spaghetti squash mixed with sardines, tomato, and olive oil.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

